Sunday happy

Creepy ad or not, not much is better on a hot day than popsicles and push-pops. Image from popsicle.com.

Creepy ad or not, not much is better on a hot day than popsicles and push-pops. Image from popsicle.com.

It’s another hot August day, and I, of course, felt the need to buy orange push-pops today.

psh-up-pops

I yabba dabba do remember Fred Flintstone on my pops!

When I was growing up, nothing made me happier on a day like today than an orange push-pop or a banana popsicle.

I keep popsicles (not banana at the moment, though) in the freezer for just such days, but sometimes you just have to have that orange sherbert (with or without vanilla swirls). Yum! And easy on the stomach too; bonus!

I'm salivating already ...

I’m salivating already …

Every once in a while, I’ll make my own pops, but I tend to stick to pretty simple ones (sometimes just orange juice!). Sure, there are “adult” push-pop and popsicle recipes out there, but since I don’t drink (and sometimes simple’s just better), I’ll stick with orange and banana, and raspberry when I feel like it.

Though I think I really wanna try making these.

And now I want banana puddin’.

White chocolate banana pudding pops, found on Smilemonsters.

White chocolate banana pudding pops, found on Smilemonsters.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Sunday happy

  1. Popsicles! Cherry, grape, and banana. In the days before air conditioning, they were essential to surviving Oklahoma summers. Especially the dog days of August. I think I have some in my freezer right now that have been there so long they need to be thrown out.

    Like

    • Yup. When they get to the point where they’re just a syrupy mess, you have to toss them. But before that … mmmmmmm …

      I like Luigi’s Italian ices too, though they can be a bit pricey. Wyler’s has some Italian ices over where the Flavor-Ice (weak Kool-Aid, ugh) is, and they’re pretty darned good … love the orange creme and the raspberry!

      Like

  2. I’m craving a popsicle right now. I just can’t decide what flavor. I should just go to Kroger and stand in front of the popsicle section until the spirit moves. Fudgesicles are one of my favorites, but right now I’m leaning toward a citrus – maybe lime.

    Like

  3. My son came with me, and we ended up with coconut. Outshine didn’t have lime. I like push-pops, but I usually push the pop out of the container. Maybe I should get some and practice!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.