Mental health no laughing matter

I joke. A lot. Mostly at my own expense, but sometimes it’s watching the reaction of a cat I’m sitting who is bound and determined to find the cat purring in my phone (Chicot is a hoot, as are her sisters Lucy and Nora, especially if my phone is purring or a sky raisin has invaded the house).

I will never not miss this boy.

I lost my own cat Luke nearly seven years ago, and while I haven’t gotten to the point where I feel I’m ready to take on another cat or three of my own, it’s been healing for me to take care of other people’s cats. That’s where I am in that particular part of my mental health journey, though I have a long way to go. Still, for now, I’m more than happy to sit Miley, Tomkin, Ollie, Charlie, Dolly Madison, Smokey Joe, Cheeto and whoever else whenever I can.

For one thing, it’s a lot cheaper than the cost of a therapy session, which is something we should remember as Mental Health Awareness Month comes to an end.

My mom used to say I came out of the womb worried, so the idea that I’ve never not had depression is believable for me, no matter how goofy I may be sometimes. Humor is a defense mechanism for me.

I’ve lived with chronic depression and anxiety for most of my life, but have mostly been able to work around it; I was a functional depressive and could focus on tasks without much problem for decades. I didn’t really know any other way, having grown up poor with no priority put on mental health. I wasn’t diagnosed till around 2010, by which time I was no longer quite so functional and found it harder to do simple tasks; I still barreled on through, though, because that was all I knew to do. Medication has helped, though even that took some adjustment, as one of my long-term meds started contributing to anxiety attacks last year.

I wouldn’t be surprised if there are some attention deficit issues wrapped up in there as well, but I haven’t been diagnosed as yet, partially because the cost of therapy is not easily met for a lot of us. I’m still paying off sessions that I had to end months ago because of the out-of-pocket price tag.

The two of us in the middle (oldest and youngest) are the ones who’ve dealt for decades with depression that runs in the family.

Illnesses like depression and anxiety don’t just affect the brain, and they’re not just being sad or fidgety sometimes. They can affect every part of the body, and what works for one person to feel better might have little to no effect for someone else, and in some cases might make matters worse. (My old landlord was constantly recommending exercise as a fix for my depression; she obviously hadn’t dealt with severe depression in her life, and exercise ended up exacerbating my IBS, which was So. Much. Fun.)

More than one in five Americans live with a mental illness each year, according to the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI), and half of those go untreated. For minorities and lower-income people, it’s hard to get past the barriers (economic, racial, gender, social, etc.) to needed care. Medication is easier to pay for with insurance, so therapy, which can provide breakthroughs and a path forward, gets put off or avoided altogether (and online therapy appears to be better suited to those with low-grade severity of symptoms).

Getting doctors to take you seriously can sometimes be difficult. I’m having a hard time at the moment getting a male doctor to understand that not being able to get to sleep is a big problem for me and is affecting my work and physical and mental health. Image by John Deering.

Daniel Dawes, professor and executive director of the Satcher Health Leadership Institute at Morehouse School of Medicine and author of “The Political Determinants of Health,” told Georgia Public Broadcasting in 2022, “Investing in mental health care saves lives and dollars; we have known this for decades, but until now did not fully understand the monumental impacts of neglecting to act. … For the first time, there is tangible evidence demonstrating how decades of systemic health inequities have yielded significantly worse outcomes for racial and ethnic minoritized, marginalized, and under-resourced populations.”

A Morehouse study found that, “before the pandemic, a lack of mental health care equity cost more than 100,000 lives and $278 billion nationwide,” reported GPB. Dr. Shale L. Wong of the University of Colorado, who participated in the study, told GPB, “Right now, we have a choice. We can maintain policies that perpetuate inequity or take new policy actions to reduce it.”

I know of several people just off the top of my head, several of them family or family friends, who might still be here if access to mental health services was better than it is. The only reason I got a quick turnaround on getting therapy late last year was because I had a meltdown during a regular doctor’s appointment and the family medicine residency clinic I use is implementing a more integrated approach to care by including behavioral health in the practice. While the few weeks of therapy helped, more would have been ideal to get me past some really tough spots (it seems especially cruel that it costs so much when financial instability was a contributing factor to my meltdown). But costs have to be prioritized.

The U.S. needs to change its approach to health care in general, but mental health care needs special attention. The “bootstraps” approach helps no one but the insurance industry. Image by Rudzhan Nagiev found on National Institute of Mental Health.

The United States spends more on health care than any other wealthy, developed nation, but with worse outcomes. The Commonwealth Fund found in 2020 that while there appears to be less stigma in the U.S. to getting behavioral/mental health help (I’d wager you might find there is still a lot of stigma in rural areas/states, though), one in six adults in crisis were unable to get or afford that help. The U.S. was found to have the highest suicide rate of 11 high-income countries and one of the highest substance-abuse rates.

The Commonwealth Fund reported: “The United States has one of the highest mental health burdens among high-income countries studied. Structural capacity to meet mental health needs, in terms of workforce numbers and preparedness, is also relatively lower in the U.S. than in other high-income countries. Although the Affordable Care Act strengthened insurance coverage for, and access to, mental health care and substance use disorder treatment, considerable gaps remain.”

There are things we could and should do to make mental health a priority, and other countries have experimented successfully with solutions such as reducing or eliminating cost-sharing for mental health care.

And while there may be less stigma here overall, I still see the lingering effects of it from my youth, when we didn’t talk openly about our mental troubles; mostly, it was only whispered about if brought up at all. Care is out there. It’s the reluctance to admit we need it and finding a way to pay for it that we have to overcome.

I may joke about my sanity sometimes, but access to mental health care is no laughing matter. It shouldn’t be so hard.

These fur babies are wonderful therapy, though they don’t offer advice much beyond “feed me,” “clean the litterbox, peasant,” and “play with me.” Top from left: Dolly Madison, Smokey Joe and Miley. Center from left: Cheeto, Tomkin, Ollie and Chicot. Bottom from left: Lucy, Charlie and Nora. Love ALL of these kittehs! Got a kitty? I probably love it already. Collage made on Fotor.

21 thoughts on “Mental health no laughing matter

  1. Like you, I grew up poor and rural. As I recall, the therapy for any kind of mental distress was “Snap out of it” accompanied by a shaking of shoulders or even a slapped face. I don’t think I ever needed that therapy nor do I know how successful it was.

    Today, the GOP therapy for mental illness seems to be gun-ownership.

    As you document, America has not done a stellar job of handling this problem.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There are still too many people like my infamous former sister-in-law who was born and raised in a small town of two thousand people in north central Wisconsin which had just one general practitioner who had graduated from medical school before my sister-in-law was born and that was all they had. They had probably never heard of physicians who specialized in certain areas of medicine and they were suspicious and mistrustful of any such physicians. For example, my former sister-in-law had never heard of psychiatrists or psychologists or mental hospitals such as the Arkansas State Hospital before they moved here from Wisconsin. She still thinks psychiatry is evil and it comes from the Devil. I did waste time, energy, and effort trying to convince her that God gave us psychiatry because He loves us and was trying to help us. However, she was her usual stubborn, obstinate, and hard-headed self and she refused to listen to my positive interpretation of this situation. This is also how she reacts to any new medical technologies (CAT scans, MRI, EEG) or scans which she did not hear of when she was a child growing up in that small town in Wisconsin.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You’ve mentioned her a number of times in the past and my non-psychiatric diagnosis is “hopeless.” It doesn’t seem as though you will ever change her mind on anything, and you risk your own well-being by trying. I had a friend who coined a phrase that might be useful: “okay-fine-bye” said quickly.

      Liked by 1 person

      • “Hopeless”? Yes, definitely. Her behavior and her actions are one of the main reasons I had to divorce her younger sister. Some of the people (such as the preacher who married us) who have criticized me about the divorce are not as well acquainted with my former sister-in-law as I unfortunately am. Yes I did offer to explain to this preacher why I got divorced but she didn’t seem to want to listen to my explanation.

        Like

      • And one more comment about the former sister-in-law……when she sent me a Friend Request on Facebook, it required no thought on my part to Block her.

        Like

      • I agree that education is important but if you are dealing with someone who is both unable and unwilling to learn, trying to educate them is a waste of time, energy, and effort.

        Like

  3. There are still too many people who seem to think that if your ancestors obviously didn’t come here from Europe, then you either shouldn’t get good medical care (as in second rate or third rate care) and helping you has a low priority as in you are the last person to be helped. This type of thinking and behavior is just going to hurt us in the long run or the long term but too many people just want to think short term and don’t want to plan that far ahead.

    Like

  4. On a more positive and optimistic note, there have been many advances in medical technology and knowledge during my life time and there is so much more which we can do now to help people who are sick whether or not they are physically or emotionally or psychologically or mentally ill.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. One thing which does not help me and has not helped me are all of the narrow minded fools who seemed to think they know better than me what I am supposed to need and want. They are usually surprised to find out how much I enjoy playing music and how much playing music helps me. Music has beneficial, positive, and soothing effects on me and most other people.

    Like

  6. Beautifully stated, Brenda. After forty years in primary care, I can support all that you say about stigma, and barriers to mental health care, and health inequity.
    The richest country in the world, and we don’t have the will to provide the basics to our people.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. It would help a lot if a doctor could refer you to someone he/she knows who would see you right away (pure luck, of course). As it is, being given a list of a dozen or so anonymous psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers, none of whom can see you for at least three months and all of whom work for no less than hundreds an hour, is worse than useless.

    Things are so broken in this country.

    Liked by 2 people

    • When the family medicine residency clinic was started, the goal was to be more full-service, so there’s a social work/behavioral therapy component. Because of that, I was able to talk to someone that day. But each appointment was costing me $130, and that’s not sustainable for long. I did make progress, but having to quit felt like failure.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.