Sunday sunny

As I write this, it’s been raining. When I was a kid, I would say the angels were crying, and perhaps they are at the moment, considering what happens in five days.

But it’s Sunday, and that means we need something happy … and what could be more happy-making than cats enjoying sunlight? Besides, it was my birthday Friday, and that’s what I want.

Did I just hear a heavenly choir? Or was that just the neighbors playing Enya? Image found on BoredPanda.

Did I just hear a heavenly choir? Or was that just the neighbors playing Enya?
Image found on BoredPanda.

The only bad thing about this solar motion-sensor cat is the long recharge time ... Image found on Pinterest.

The only bad thing about this solar motion-sensor cat is the long recharge time …
Image found on Pinterest.

Of course you are, sweetie. You're also in the center of the walking path, so shift it unless you want to be stepped on. Image found on MemeCenter.

Of course you are, sweetie. You’re also in the center of the walking path, so shift it unless you want to be stepped on.
Image found on MemeCenter.

And then she thought: Spray tan! (But not that funky Cheeto-colored stuff.) Image found on CatLadyLand.

And then she thought: Spray tan! (But not that funky Cheeto-colored stuff.)
Image found on CatLadyLand.

I think it means you might be able to poop a pot of gold. Image found on Pinterest.

I think it means you might be able to poop a pot of gold.
Image found on Pinterest.

Serenity now ... Friday won't happen ... serenity now ... Image found on BoredPanda.

Serenity now … Friday won’t happen … serenity now …
Image found on BoredPanda.

If they had four cats, they'd have to put in another window. Image found on HypeDojo.

If they had four cats, they’d have to put in another window.
Image found on HypeDojo.

Relax ... everything will look better after a nap in the sun. Image found on RocketNews.

Relax … everything will look better after a nap in the sun.
Image found on RocketNews.

What?? You don't sunbathe like this? That's just weird! Image found on ImageFor.

What?? You don’t sunbathe like this? That’s just weird!
Image found on ImagesFor.

I calleth dibs! Image found on weheartit.

I calleth dibs!
Image found on weheartit.

Who is this Lassie of which you speak?

Calm down, Mom! The sun can worship me much better here!

OK, you're right. It's much safer for the sun to worship me here. Now show yourself out.

OK, you’re right. It’s much safer for the sun to worship me here. Now show yourself out.

19 thoughts on “Sunday sunny

  1. Happy Birthday, Brenda. Finally made 21? I’m not sure how many that is in cat years (then multiplied by nine, of course). Hope you had a great celebration, practicing up for many more to come.

    Like

  2. Happy birthday again! These cat photos made me happy too. I love watching cats contort into strange poses and then sleep like that. I think I would do well to look at cat photos and videos this week leading up to Friday. I have been a bit grumpy lately, most likely worrying about Friday. I saw a meme that said, “I’m not afraid of Friday the 13th. It’s Friday the 20th that worries me” (or something along those lines).

    Thanks for the kitty pictures. Give Luke a smooch for me.

    Like

    • And a happy birthday again to you!

      The boy loves sleeping in the window, or just stretched out on the bed (the better to keep me in my place). Right now, though, he’s asleep on the couch and I’m playing with his new fishie. πŸ˜‰

      The 20th will not be a fun day by any stretch of the imagination … and it’s probably too much to hope for for it to be blustery and rainy so that someone might get pneumonia a la William Henry Harrison. Dang it. I did see a story, though, that some liberal media outlets are hiring more investigative reporters and have been getting more donations than they have in years to do so. The new order doesn’t bode well for the press, but it gives me hope that at least some are ready to go down swinging rather than become Pravda West.

      Liked by 1 person

      • What a crazy first few days of this insane presidency. I love your “Cheeto Jesus” nickname for Trump. I tried to comment on your blog post today, but I can’t get to the comments. My sister sent me a link to an online store that is selling “alternative cat” t-shirts. I’ll forward you the link.

        I was at the march Saturday, and I saw a sign that said, “Thanks, Trump. You turned me into an activist.” I saw a tweet earlier today that said, “It’s pretty unusual to start your term in office by demanding an investigation of the election you just won.” (@jbarro).

        I need to stop rambling and get to homework (last semester, I hope). Your column today was great. Enjoy the last few days of your birthday month. I’m glad Luke shares his fishie with you. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • That’s weird … I’ll see if I accidentally did something I shouldn’t have.

        I would have loved to go to the march, but I’m still fighting back from the bug … and now the boy’s not feeling well. Hoping I can get him to eat a little in a bit. 😦

        There are some great signs I’ve seen, and I’m hoping that this is the start of a new movement that will take on the haters and win.

        I would definitely love that link!

        Like

  3. For all the trepidation of January 20th, I am celebrating today, January 16th. Seventy-nine years ago today, Benny Goodman took jazz into Carnegie Hall. I was eight days old and like to think I was tapping my little feet.

    Like

  4. I work as the unit clerk/secretary/coordinator in one of the intensive care units at the local Veterans Hospital. I am wondering whether or not our new President will increase or decrease veteran’s benefits.
    As for good music such as jazz…..my mother was a music teacher who listened to and played almost anything and everything on the piano. She continued to teach piano lessons while she was pregnant with me. Also, my parents continued to attend symphony concerts regularly until I was born. My mother told me that when she was seven months pregnant with me, the orchestra played the infamous 1812 Overture by Tschaikovsky and I made her uncomfortable by moving around a lot inside her. Apparently I was reacting to the music.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh drat, I missed it! Happy Belated Birthday. But you had all these felines to entertain you That’s why we have them, after ll. The little one who’s upside down is hilarious. That’s the way I feel most of the time now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

