Sunday springy

Friday was Earth Day, and rather than planting, I was nursing a very large bruise on my hand that for once had nothing to do with the furry one (the desk in my office, though, is on timeout).  As I type this, it’s finally turning various shades of purple … sort of close to the shade of the Ebb Tide roses I will be putting in (again, along with a few others since all my roses were pulled out in an EPA project).

Yep, that's pretty much the color of my bruise right now. Ebb Tide rose image found on New York Botanical Garden Plant Talk blog.

Yep, that’s pretty much the color of my bruise right now.
Ebb Tide rose image found on New York Botanical Garden Plant Talk blog.

In honor of Earth Day and spring in general, some lovely blooms. (And get out there and plant, people!)

Catchfly is a cute little wildflower, but I've never caught a fly with it ... slacker ...

Catchfly is a cute little wildflower, but I’ve never seen it catch a fly … slacker …

Is this a poppy or the sun?

Is this a poppy or the sun?

This rose bush is no more ... but it had problems. Still ...

This rose bush is no more … but it had problems. Still …

Who couldn't be happy looking at this delphinium? Luke, because he can't eat it.

Who couldn’t be happy looking at this delphinium? Luke, because I won’t let him eat it.

Hummingbirds love fuschia, reportedly. I guess I'll find out.

Hummingbirds love fuschia, reportedly. I guess I’ll find out.

Jacob's ladder ... just so delicate ... won't work for changing a light bulb, though.

Jacob’s ladder … just so delicate … won’t work for changing a light bulb, though.

This was the lilac at our old house, which probably no longer survives. It'll take a while before what I'm planting in the backyard will look like this.

This was the lilac at our old house, which probably no longer survives. It’ll take a while before mine will look like this.

Are you mocking me, mock orange?

Are you mocking me, mock orange?

Guara ... such an ugly name for such a pretty flower.

Guara … such an ugly name for such a pretty flower.

I'm not a girly girl, but this columbine makes me feel girly. It's so pink and purty!

I’m not a girly girl, but this columbine makes me feel girly. It’s so pink and purty!

This is me at a party ... total wallflower!

This is me at a party … total wallflower!

My garden? Nope, but a girl can dream ... Image found on Home Ideas.

My garden? Nope, but a girl can dream … some day …
Image found on Home Ideas.

6 thoughts on “Sunday springy

  1. Thank you. I needed this Sunday springy. I’m overwhelmed with school and everyday life in general. Simon’s cat always makes me laugh, but this one made me wheeze.

    I envy your green thumb. I am the Dr. Kevorkian of plants; they come to me to die. I have one ivy that has lasted 8+ years, but I kill everything else. Once my daughter looked at a small, dead cactus on my porch and said, “Who kills a cactus?” and walked to her car shaking her head. When my son was five he gave me a flower for Mother’s Day and said, “Please don’t kill this one.”

    I only found out what azaleas were when we moved here and asked someone what the flowery bushes were called.

    Thanks for giving me a spring in my step, and I hope your hand doesn’t stay purple for long.

    Like

    • 😀

      I don’t remember seeing that particular Simon’s Cat before, but it cracked me up. If the boy were allowed outside, he’d do that. 😉

      Oh, I can kill plants, too, but most of the time I can keep ’em alive … it helps to get perennials too, so that they’ll come back the next year and you won’t have to go through all that planting again.

      My mom once killed a peace lily, which is one of the hardest plants to kill since it almost thrives on neglect. I tend to get her cut flowers … safer all around 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m pretty sure my mom has killed a peace lily too. That’s hilarious!!

    We are looking at estimates for some remedial landscaping for our front yard (get rid of the holly and an ugly cedar), and if we can swing it, I’ll have a place to plant some flowers. I’ll look out for perennials. Mexican heather (one of the few plants I can recognize) is hard to kill. We had some at our house in Texas. Thanks for the advice!

    My cat isn’t allowed outside either. My daughter’s cat stayed with us for a couple weeks a few years ago when I still had a house plant. He used the plant as a litter box. It was disgusting. I need to send Catherine this video.

    Like

    • Sisters from another mister … 😉

      I’ve done Mexican heather before, too … very pretty, but someone who decided to “help” clear out a bed pulled it up. Perennials cost a little more at first, but they’re better in the long run. Annuals that freely reseed are good too (balsam is one I love).

      I don’t even have any plants in the house anymore because of Luke. The boy’s death for houseplants.

      Like

Leave a Reply

