A little irregular

No column ... really? You slacker!

No column … really? You slacker!

There’s no regular column today as I gave up the spot for a guest column.

I’ll return next week with musings on generalization fallacies (which means, I guess, that it better be damn good since I’ve now got an extra week to work on it … yeah, no pressure …).

But of course I still have thoughts wandering through my head, so I might as well let them out …


Sometimes you see a political meme and think, “well, that’s pretty funny.” When I saw this one, though, my first thought was, “why be so mean to Colonel Klink?”

Werner Klemperer might have to come back from the grave to haunt whoever came up with this comparison. Image found on Reddit.

Werner Klemperer might have to come back from the grave to haunt whoever came up with this comparison.
Image found on Reddit.

A few photobombers have made the campaign a little more bearable … if only a little.

If you can't have fun photobombing a bully by feeding a friend, what are you doing with your life? Image found on Mashable.

If you can’t have fun photobombing a bully by feeding a friend, what are you doing with your life?
Image found on Mashable.

I swear it's not the guy from Pitch Perfect ... GIF found on Esquire.

I swear it’s not the guy from Pitch Perfect
GIF found on Esquire.

Of course, Hillary's married to a master photobomber, so she should be used to it. Image found on theindychannel.

Of course, Hillary’s married to a master (sometimes creepy) photobomber, so she should be used to it.
Image found on theindychannel.

And then the debates happen again, and I remember why I hate politics.

They're such winners ... we're in good hands (tiny ones, though)! Editorial cartoon by Dana Summers, Tribune Content Agency.

They’re such winners … we’re in good hands (tiny ones, though)!
Editorial cartoon by Dana Summers, Tribune Content Agency.

PLEASE can we start over??? Editorial cartoon by Gary Markstein, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

PLEASE can we start over???
Editorial cartoon by Gary Markstein, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

Kind of how I feel right now ... Image found on Google+.

Kind of how I feel right now …
Image found on Google+.

Limberbutt McCubbins is looking better every day … and not just because he’s a cat.

Now, THIS guy I can support ... chin scritches for all! Image found on limberbutt.com.

Now, THIS guy I can support … chin scritches for all!
Image found on limberbutt.com.

This would probably be the biggest problem we'd have with Limberbutt. GIF found on Google+.

This would probably be the biggest problem we’d have with Limberbutt.
GIF found on Google+.

12 thoughts on “A little irregular

  1. From one word nerd to another: Shouldn’t it be “I had better” instead of “I better”?
    And BTW I would much rather read your column than some guest column. I love Wednesdays with your column and Rex Nelson’s

    Like

  2. I almost freaked out when I didn’t see your column this morning in the paper. I’m glad you and Luke are still alive and on the blog. The grad school vortex has sucked me in, and I’m a shell of my usual self. I have blog post ideas in my head and need to write and take a break from editing.

    The memes and cartoons are great! Only humor, cats, and chocolate are going to get me through this election. I agree with one of the letter writers in the paper this morning; you are one of the best parts of the Dem-Gaz.

    By the way, I love the close up of Luke.

    p.s. I need to go to Limberbutt.com and see if he is selling merch.

    Like

    • Luke was so not happy I was taking his picture. 😉 And awwwwww, shucks!

      Chocolate is what I just had (there was a big box of Easter chocolate on my doorstep … happy dance!); it has such powers …

      I think there is indeed Limberbutt merch. What would we do without that kitty?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Luke is so photogenic and handsome. He could be a calendar cat. I hope I find some Easter chocolate on my doorstep. It sounds like the Easter bunny came early for you.

        I will definitely check out the Limberbutt merch. He sounds like the late Tuxedo Stan of Canada and then Earl Grey (Tuxedo Stan’s brother) who “ran” for Prime Minister.

        Like

      • Luke was actually on the Bad Cat Page-A-Day calendar several years back under the pseudonym “Ripper” (because he was in front of a book on Jack the Ripper). He let it go to his head, of course. 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

