Sunday grammar

In all the exhausting hubbub of Friday (the Little Rock Marathon took over our parking lot and blocked off most of the surrounding area for a race today … grrr), I managed to forget about National Grammar Day.

My fellow word nerds, I have failed you, and I’m sorry.

To make up for it, or maybe just to annoy you, an ode to bad grammar …

But hey, the smiley face makes up for that incorrect "your." Image found on NotAlwaysWorking.

But hey, the smiley face makes up for that incorrect “your.”
Image found on Not Always Working.

It's not a good sign (pun intended) when the signmaker doesn't know that an apostrophe isn't needed here. Image found on FunnyLittleFrog.

It’s not a good sign (pun intended) when the signmaker doesn’t know how not to use an apostrophe.
Image found on Funny Little Frog.

If you must smoke (I'd rather you not as I'm allergic), please do so quietly ... some of us are trying to sleep. Image found on Pinterest.

If you must smoke (I’d rather you not as I’m allergic), please do so quietly … some of us are trying to sleep.
Image found on Pinterest.

MY EYES!!!! If you're going to make such a bad error, please, please, PLEASE don't keep doing it. Image found on GrammarVandal.

MY EYES!!!! If you’re going to make such a bad error, please, please, PLEASE don’t plaster it everywhere.
Image found on The Grammar Vandal.

Well, I know I won't be heading there for their English program ... Image found on Pinterest.

Well, I know I won’t be heading there for their English program …
Image found on Pinterest.

Ohhhhh, that's harsh! And he was such a nice young potato, too! Image found on Huffington Post.

Ohhhhh, that’s harsh! And he was such a nice young potato, too!
Image found on Huffington Post.

And that price should be refunded immediately ... Image found on Out of Home International.

And that price should be refunded immediately …
Image found on Out of Home International.

Am I the only one having a flashback to the Laverne & Shirley Fabian episode? Image found on Pinterest.

Am I the only one having a flashback to the Laverne & Shirley Fabian episode?
Image found on Pinterest.

Well, obviously not ... Image found on Huffington Post.

Well, obviously not …
Image found on Huffington Post.

I thought I heard the chimney sniffle ... Image found on Daily Writing Tips.

I thought I heard the chimney sniffle …
Image found on Daily Writing Tips.

NOOOOO! Not the tongue! Image found on Viral Nova.

NOOOOO! Not the tongue!
Image found on Viral Nova.

11 thoughts on “Sunday grammar

  1. I was a bit slow “getting” the tongue goof…spent time trying to figure out WHY they would permit…encourage spearing pastries orally..
    I flashed back to the old joke about the waiter answering sanitation questions with “I don’t know about the other waiters, I use these tongs.”
    (please raise eyebrows if somehow you have NOT heard story.)

    Like

  2. For some strange reason, the song about Signs by the Five Man Electrical Band has started walking through my head.

    Like

  3. I forgot about National Grammar Day too. I checked Twitter before going to bed and saw a mention of it. I’m on receptionist duty at work for an hour, and I snort laughed when I read these. The misused apostrophes drive me nuts.

    Like

    • I think I saw it either Friday night or Saturday morning … it should be printed on calendars so we don’t forget! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I’ll admit there are days I have to put the letters with misused apostrophes aside because I just can’t deal with them until I’ve had caffeine, chocolate and a cat fix. Otherwise, my head explodes.

      Like

      • I’m doing academic editing right now. The academics might dangle or misplace an occasional participle, but they know where to put an
        apostrophe.

        Sometimes academia can be slightly dull, though, so the three Cs (chocolate, caffeine, and cats) help get me through long editing sessions.

        Like

Leave a Reply

