Sunday flighty

For about two weeks, our newsroom played host to eight guests who just kinda hung around for a while. One of the editors brought in milkweed and eight monarch caterpillars which, over the course of their time in our cluttered paradise, formed chrysalises and finally emerged as beautiful butterflies who were released when they were ready. I didn’t get many pictures because I was so busy, but I made a little time for them since I love butterflies so much.

Two of the newsroom Monarchs an hour or so before they were released.

Two of the newsroom Monarchs in their terrarium an hour or so before they were released.

Looks like that Monarch's about ready to take the editing chair ...

Looks like that Monarch’s about ready to take the editing chair …

A Monarch in the wild just after emerging from its crysalis. Image by Georgeanne McIlveene found on CaptureArkansas.

A Monarch in the wild just after emerging from its crysalis.
Image by Georgeanne McIlveene found on CaptureArkansas.

A whole mess of Monarchs soon to start their migration. Image found on GoErie.

A whole mess of Monarchs soon to start their migration.
Image found on GoErie.

The Monarch fall migration is supposed to peak this week in Arkansas. Maybe I'll be lucky and photograph one like this one on what appears to be lance-leaved coreopsis. Image found on Steve Creek Outdoors.

The Monarch fall migration is supposed to peak this week in Arkansas. Maybe I’ll be lucky and get a photograph like this one on what appears to be lance-leaved coreopsis.
Image found on Steve Creek Outdoors.


 

Monarchs aren’t the only butterflies (and moths) I love. I’ve caught many on camera over the past several years.

A little wood satyr tries to blend in.

A little wood satyr tries to blend in.

A fiery skipper pays a visit to a butterfly bush.

A fiery skipper pays a visit to a butterfly bush.

A skipper perching atop a thistle.

A skipper perching atop thistle.

A red admiral rests on a leaf.

A red admiral rests on a leaf.

A gray hairstreak alights on spent daisy blooms.

A gray hairstreak alights on spent daisy blooms.

A hackberry emperor preparing for takeoff.

This hackberry emperor looks a little hacked off.

A dogface butterfly (I'm pretty sure) lands on thistle.

A dogface butterfly (I’m pretty sure) lands on thistle.

A common buckeye catches some rays.

A common buckeye catches some rays.

A purple admiral prepares for takeoff.

A purple admiral prepares for takeoff.

What really should be mascot for copy editors, the comma butterfly.

What really should be mascot for copy editors, the comma butterfly.

6 thoughts on “Sunday flighty

  1. How exciting to have those monarchs right in your newsroom! Must have been fascinating to watch. I love butterflies. They’re so beautiful, delicate, and seemingly cheerful — all while being utterly harmless.

    Like

    • I think everyone in the newsroom stopped at least once to just stare at them. It was very calming … though maybe not so much for the butterflies with all those weird people watching them. 😉

      Like

  2. Beautiful! I know you don’t have a lot of time, but have you read Barbara Kingsolver’s novel, “Flight Behavior?” It is amazing, and as usual, she embeds truth within fiction, and the truth is her story about Monarchs. I tried to find milkweed here, but all I could find were the seeds, and it was too late to plant them. I planted two butterfly bushes, but have not seen much activity. Next year I will start searching earlier! Loved your article, as always.

    Like

    • I haven’t read it, but I’ll put it on the list, thanks! 😀

      My gardening got short-circuited by my stroke this year, but I have plants and bulbs on the way to attract birds and butterflies. I still need to find some more natives to fill it out, but I’m determined to have some butterfly-friendly spots next year!

      Like

Leave a Reply

