Sunday happy

The last couple of weeks have been tough in our house with Luke’s illness, which his regular vet figured out was triggered by some herniated discs in his back. However, all’s mostly back to normal now … except the boy’s not too thrilled with the Prednisone gel in his ears each morning, or Mom trying to get a pain pill down his throat when he’s hurting. Still, it’s a relief that he’s eating again.

Even better, he’s been getting kinda goofy again, so I have my boy back. In his honor, this post is all about him. Life in general already is all about him anyway (at least that’s what he tells me).

Look at that grumpy face! If you look closely at his neck, you might notice a line; that would be where the first emergency vet shaved a patch to put in the sub-Q fluids. Oh, the indignity!

Look at that grumpy face! If you look closely at his neck, you might notice a line; that would be where the first emergency vet shaved a patch to put in the sub-Q fluids. Oh, the indignity!

No, Mom! My toy! MINE!

No, Mom! My toy! MINE!

Who is this Lassie of which you speak?

Who is this Lassie of which you speak?

I feel pretty!

I feel pretty!

There's some crazy-ass stuff goin' on out there!

There’s some crazy-ass stuff goin’ on out there!

This belly's not gonna rub itself, ya know!

This belly’s not gonna rub itself, ya know!

... and here is Sir Luke Fluffybutt to demonstrate "slumbrously."

… and here is Sir Luke Fluffybutt to demonstrate “slumbrously.”

No, this isn't a smile, Mom. It's gas.

No, this isn’t a smile, Mom. It’s gas.

Serious face now ... it's time to edit. And put your pants back on, you weirdo.

Serious face now … it’s time to edit.
And put your pants back on, you weirdo.

4 thoughts on “Sunday happy

  1. Now I am totally in love with Luke! Taz has always bent out blinds by doing just what Luke did! Love the pictures, and pray that boy of yours does really well with his new medication! Ask your vet about a “pill pusher” for pets, it has a nice rubber tip, but acts like a syringe in getting the pill down his throat.

    Like

    • Join the club! 😉

      That’s my mom’s favorite picture of her grand-kitty. It pretty much says it all about his personality.

      Right now the boy’s napping on the scratch pad I got for him, having tuckered himself off playing with catnip fish. It’s a big change from how the last couple of weeks went, and I’m so glad I was able to get him to the vet who really knows him. Dr. Jordan gave me a pill pusher, but I’ve yet to get a pill down Luke (he’s extraordinarily hard to pill, partly because he’s so strong). So far, though, he hasn’t really needed the pain pills.

      OK, I gotta rub that belly now! 😀

      Like

  2. I’m so glad Sir Luke Fluffybutt (I love that!) is feeling better and acting goofy again. Why is it so much easier to give a dog a pill than a cat? At least you can put the Prednisone in his ears, although I can’t imagine that’s much easier. He looks like such a sweet, fluffy boy, and I’m so happy he’s frolicking about. There’s something about cats; they are furry humans who have us wrapped around their small but powerful paws. Give him a kitty hug for me.

    Like

    • I will! Of course, kitty hugs for him must be administered from 10 feet away. 😉

      Sir Fluffybutt is not a fan of the Prednisone, but I keep reminding him that the gel is easier on all involved than a shot. He doesn’t seem to believe me …

      He’s been trying to make up for lost time in the eating department and is cleaning his plate pretty consistently. Of course, that means his bowl of dry is gone by morning, so he must rouse me to serve him. 😀

      I did manage to trick him into going down his pet steps this morning by putting a catnip fishie on each step. He looked a little annoyed that I saw him walk down them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

