Sunday fuzzy redux

The Supreme Court rulings last week in the King and Obergefell cases weren’t the only things I welcomed. My little buddy from last year made a return visit to my backyard, this time coming within about 15 feet of the back door. (Yes, I know it might not be the same one, but I choose to believe it is.) Unfortunately I didn’t have my camera at the time, so you’ll just have to be happy with last year’s video evidence.

I’m calling him Wilbur.

I know a lot of people would want to kill him, but I grew up in the  country, and I happen to like the little guy (and Wilbur the Woodchuck has yet to chuck any wood). Luke seems to like him too … at least he likes staring at him. 😀

Let’s celebrate wildlife in the backyard! Well, at least the wildlife that doesn’t want to eat us. Just our cat food.

Nothin' to see here, folks ... just gettin' a snack! GIF found on HilariousGIFs.

Nothin’ to see here, folks … just gettin’ a snack!
GIF found on HilariousGIFs.

Waiter, there's no bird in my soup! Photo by Ellen Fountain found on Southwest Environment.

Waiter, there’s no bird in my soup!
Photo by Ellen Fountain found on Southwest Environment.

This baby bunny was, I think, a little miffed that I found him ... I got a bit of baby bunny stink-eye.

This baby bunny was, I think, a little miffed that I found him … I got a bit of baby bunny stink-eye in return.

But, Mom, I don't WANNA take a bath! Photo found on Chicago Tribune Suburbs.

But, Mom, I don’t WANNA take a bath!
Photo found on Chicago Tribune Suburbs.

Pardon me, but can I borrow a cup of deer corn? Photo found on BudgetSmartGirl.

Pardon me, but can I borrow a cup of deer corn?
Photo found on BudgetSmartGirl.

What did you say about my mama??? Photo found on ForWallpaper.

What did you say about my mama???
Photo found on ForWallpaper.

Can someone boost me up, please? Photo by David J. Duggan.

Can someone boost me up, please?
Photo by David J. Duggan.

Hold it, people! Settle your butts, I'm tryin' to talk here! Photo by Carl Wilkinson found on BackyardSquirrels.

Hold it, people! Settle your butts, I’m tryin’ to talk here!
Photo by Carl Wilkinson found on BackyardSquirrels.

Do you really have to go? I'll miss you! Photo found on OhMyGodFacts.

Do you really have to go? Take me with you!
Photo found on OhMyGodFacts.

OK, one wild carnivore that may or may not want to eat us. I’m not sure if the cougar is wanting to eat the cat or just make friends, but it cracked me up. Happy Sunday!

4 thoughts on “Sunday fuzzy redux

  1. Wilbur is precious!! Did I hear a “meow” from Luke toward the end of your video? I didn’t know prairie dogs live around central Arkansas. We have some bunnies and a chipmunk or two that peek out from behind bushes occasionally. Josie the lhasapoo has dug several holes in our backyard in her futile attempts to capture a chipmunk.

    Wilbur must sense that he is in the yard of a lover of animals, and that’s why he returned.

    Like

    • That is indeed a pained meow from Luke … he wasn’t happy that I was disturbing his Wilbur-watching! 😀

      I did think at the time I recorded it that he was a prairie dog, but he was too big to be that; I figured out that he’s a groundhog (also known as a woodchuck). Doesn’t matter, though, I still think he’s adorable. There are supposedly some prairie dogs in Arkansas, but they’d be in more isolated areas.

      I wish I’d see a chipmunk; it’s mostly squirrels and a few rabbits over here. And the rabbits confuse Luke since they’re not pink like his Bunny. 😉

      Josie, Josie, Josie … that’s not how to get that chipmunk to play with you, silly girl … 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wilbur the Woodchuck has a nice ring to it. I’m conjuring up a children’s story with a cat named Luke and his friend Wilbur. I’m excited that I recognized Luke’s meow in the background!!

        Obviously I’m not up on my animal science although I wondered why Wilbur was away from his mound of dirt. I also had no idea that woodchucks and groundhogs are the same thing. I think woodchuck has a nicer sound than groundhog. Besides, I imagine Wilbur would rather chuck wood than hog ground. (I think I need to go to bed.)

        My husband hates the chipmunks because they dig tiny holes in our yard. Josie sticks her face in the hole and then digs like there’s no tomorrow. She’s now grounded from the backyard. Josie likes to look at the bunnies (she’s leashed or she’d probably chase them), but she wants to catch a chipmunk. I can see how Luke would be confused.

        Enjoy your wild kingdom, and I hope Wilbur shows up again.

        Like

      • Here’s hoping! Luke heads to the back door as soon as I open up the back room, and scans the yard for critters. Haven’t seen Wilbur again, but I have hope.

        They’re also called marmots (which is really the scientific name) … I just like Wilbur. 😀

        I’ll go to bed soon (I hope), but have to finish the blog entry first. My boss is already asleep (rotten cat!).

        Like

Leave a Reply

