Sunday funny

OK, after a delay, here we go …

The infamous hed, credited to Vinnie Musetto.

The infamous hed, credited to Vinnie Musetto.

Something people might not know about a lot of us in the news biz is that many of us have a very weird sense of humor. One of the things that cracks a lot of us up are funny headlines, some intentionally so, some not so much.

Unless you’ve been living in a cave, you’ve probably heard of one of the more famous ones, the legendary 1983 New York Post headline, “Headless body in topless bar.”

These headlines haven’t reached legendary status (yet), but they’re still funny.

Whew! That was a close one! Image found on DuckDuckGrayDuck.

Whew! That was a close one!
Image found on DuckDuckGrayDuck.

Reminds me of the contortions sports writers went through for headlines on stories about Tyson Gay and Casey Dick ... Image found on SlipTalk.

Reminds me of the contortions sports writers went through for headlines on stories about Tyson Gay and Casey Dick …
Image found on SlipTalk.

See ya out on the obstable course ... Image found on FunnyDumpster.

See ya out on the obstable course …
Image found on FunnyDumpster.

The writer obviously didn't learn the M-I-crooked letter-crooked letter bit a lot of us Southern kids did. Image found on SlipTalk.

The writer obviously didn’t learn the M-I-crooked letter-crooked letter bit a lot of us Southern kids did.
Image found on SlipTalk.

Anyone up for Freeway Jam? Image found on NedHardy.

Anyone up for Freeway Jam?
Image found on NedHardy.com.

So. Many. Jokes. Image found on SlipTalk.

So. Many. Jokes.
Image found on SlipTalk.

You have no idea how much I wish I'd written this one. Image found on NedHardy.com.

You have no idea how much I wish I’d written this one.
Image found on NedHardy.com.

4 thoughts on “Sunday funny

  1. I’m wheeze laughing in the library at UALR. These are hilarious!! “Otter Devastation” is just great, although it’s hard to pick a favorite. Your captions add to the hilarity. My favorite sign (not a headline but still funny) was from a small town in Texas – “Bang and Bow Taxidermy. Now serving lunch.”

    I’m behind on your blog but plan to catch up as soon as I get some breathing room with school. Thanks for the Sunday funny.

    Like

    • I especially love that they found the most evil-looking otter ever to illustrate the story … no cute floating otters holding paws.

      And I’m behind on stuff as well, partially because every time I start typing, Luke decides my elbow looks awfully tasty. 😀

      Like

      • Poor otter. He just wants a nice place to swim. If I could be an animal, I’d pick otter or my friend’s toy poodle.

        I have been doing homework at the UALR library. My pets are just too needy when I’m home. Apparently they don’t get clingy when I go out of town. I guess they know my husband and son won’t fall for their tricks.

        Luke sounds precious.

        Like

      • Otters are adorable!!

        Luke’s in my lap right now, which means I’ll soon have to dump him when he inevitably attacks my hands because I dare to try to work. I’m just so evil. 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

