Sunday hopeful

When I’m really low, looking at something beautiful usually helps, and if it’s not nature photography (or my little fuzzball), it’s art.

I’m a fan of the impressionists, among others; Monet, Van Gogh, Degas, Seurat … they all make me happy.

Poppy field near Argenteuil, by Claude Monet.

Poppy field near Argenteuil, by Claude Monet.

Irises, by Vincent van Gogh.

Irises, by Vincent van Gogh.

Dancers, by Edgar Degas.

Dancers, by Edgar Degas.

Woman Singing in a Café Chantant, drawn by Georges Seurat.

Woman Singing in a Café Chantant, drawn by Georges Seurat.

I’m also a fan of newer artists, especially ones who have a sly bit of wit in their work, like Banksy.

That's the way to clean. Artwork by Banksy, via Twisted Sifter.

That’s the way to clean.
Artwork by Banksy, via Twisted Sifter.

At the moment, two of my favorites are having health issues. Ray Ferrer I know only through his work, his blog and by email, and he was one of my first followers when I started this blog nearly two years ago. All my dealings with him have been wonderful, and his strong character comes through his words and his work. He’s in the hospital now with a brain tumor, and I hope everyone will send Ray and his family lots of love and positive thoughts (and maybe drop by his Etsy store and pick up a print to help with medical expenses).

The other I know very well and work right next door to (and our birthdays are only two days apart). John Deering is one of my favorite people in the world, and one of the busiest. Between drawing two syndicated comic strips (Zack Hill and Strange Brew) and editorial cartoons, as well as the bulk of that line art you see on the editorial, Perspective and Voices pages (and occasionally here), he’s also a well-known sculptor, illustrator and painter. I’m not sure when he sleeps, but he manages to do all that and more, plus entertain and bounce ideas off me and others. This week, though, he’ll have to take it easy since he’s having his spleen yanked out. I suspect, though, that Kathy will have to tie him down at some point to keep him from trying to work. 😀

What art in my office that isn’t nature photographs is by these two. Enjoy some of my favorite works from these guys, and keep thinking good thoughts for them!

Type bar, by Ray Ferrer.

Type bar, by Ray Ferrer.

img_9790

Intuition, by Ray Ferrer.

Diner, by Ray Ferrer.

Diner, by Ray Ferrer.

The artist himself, Ray Ferrer. Image from North County Woman.

The artist himself, Ray Ferrer.
Image from North County Woman.

Singularity, by John Deering.

Singularity, by John Deering.

The Other Side of the Cove, by John Deering.

The Other Side of the Cove, by John Deering.

Testament, sculpture of Little Rock Nine on Arkansas Capitol grounds, by John Deering.

Testament, sculpture of Little Rock Nine on Arkansas Capitol grounds, by John Deering.

Perhaps now that This piece of art cracked me up. I just wish I could have used it more than twice. Cartoon by John "The Masked Danger" Deering.

This, which I had John draw for a John Brummett column, cracked me up. I just wish I could have used it more than twice on the Voices page.
Cartoon by John “The Masked Danger” Deering.

My buddy John, and one of his pieces. Image from AY Magazine.

My buddy John, and one of his pieces.
Image from AY Magazine.

2 thoughts on “Sunday hopeful

  1. I will check out Ray’s Etsy page and the GoFund me account you mentioned in your most recent blog post. “Type Bar” speaks to me. I enjoy art too. The highlight of my trips to DC and NYC were going to art museums and seeing originals by my favorite artists. Monet and van Gogh are two of my favorites. I’m also a fan of Frida Kahlo, and I can’t get enough of Dali’s melting timepieces.

    John Deering is amazing, and I had no idea of his talent outisde the newspaper. I hope he is recovering well from his splenectomy (I have a tendency toward hypochondria and know too many medical terms). Also, I’m sorry about Ray Ferrer’s illness, and I will keep him in my thoughts and prayers and will also see if I can donate something.

    Like

    • I LOVE that Dali painting (and that he was a bit of a freak too)!

      I’ve got a print of “Type Bar” and an actual painting, “Typewriter” (sensing a theme for me?), in my office, and I ordered a print of another piece the other day. Ray’s got a style that I just love, and he’s a really nice guy (plus, he and Rhian have cats, so obviously have good taste). Hoping for the best for him; he’s painted another piece since the diagnosis, so it seems for now that the tumor’s not affecting the creative center of his brain.

      John’s a great friend and always brightens my day. I’ve missed him this week and can’t wait for him to come back. Hopefully his critters have been taking it easy on him.

      I’m thinking about getting him a plush spleen toy … just cuz. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

