Sunday happy

We’re having a mini heat wave at the moment, but since most everything is still brown, I still know it’s winter.

That doesn’t mean, though, that spots of color can’t be found.

Since I shattered my right humerus six years ago, I’ve been weaker and haven’t been able to do everything I used to do, so I haven’t really done much gardening, which I love. However, I’m hoping to get back out there this year and bring out some color and fragrance. Until then, I’ll satisfy myself with these pics of plants that bloom in January.

Snowdrops are like little bursts of Spring. Image found on goodfon.su.

Snowdrops are like little bursts of Spring.
Image found on goodfon.su.

Forget raindrops on roses (but not whiskers on kittens); raindrops on forsythia are one of my favorite things.

Forget raindrops on roses (but not whiskers on kittens); raindrops on forsythia are one of my favorite things.

This pinkish lenten rose is one of the beauties found underneath leaves.

This pinkish lenten rose is one of the beauties found underneath leaves.

Considering my love for purple, of COURSE I'd love these purple lenten roses. Image found on fromlynnsgarden.wordpress.com.

Considering my love for purple, of COURSE I’d love these purple lenten roses.
Image found on fromlynnsgarden.wordpress.com.

Another hellebore (like the lenten rose), the Christmas rose is very striking.

Another hellebore (like the lenten rose), the Christmas rose is very striking.

Though sometimes mistaken for forsythia winter jasmine has its own beauty. Image found on University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture site.

Though sometimes mistaken for forsythia, winter jasmine has its own beauty.
Image found on University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture site.

A dainty crocus is a delightful surprise.

A dainty crocus is a delightful surprise.

Every so often, I'm tempted to grow witch hazel, if just for the very interesting blooms. Image found on The Gardening Register.

Every so often, I’m tempted to grow witch hazel, if just for the very interesting blooms.
Image found on The Gardening Register.

I've never tried to grow Daphne, but I may have to think about it, especially since it blooms in winter. Image found on FineGardening.

I’ve never tried to grow Daphne, but I may have to think about it, especially since it blooms in winter.
Image found on FineGardening.

Just 'cuz ... From funnycutepics.com.

No, not a flower. Just ‘cuz …
From funnycutepics.com.

2 thoughts on “Sunday happy

  1. Ha! You got me with the penguins. Again.

    Yeppers, high 60s here today (Denver, mind you.) I even opened the windows for a while. I could almost smell your spring flowers …

    Like

    • 😀 I can’t help it … when I scroll through my library and see those little guys, I HAVE to use them!

      In the 60s today here too … at one point yesterday it was in the mid-70s, and the night temps have barely gotten into the 40s the last several days … considering I was freezing my sizable backside off a week ago, it’s got me completely discombobulated. Luke’s confused, too, but at least that’s entertaining. 😉

      Can’t wait for normal cool temperatures to come back!

      Like

Leave a Reply

