Sunday happy words

Regular readers know I’m a huge word nerd; nothing makes me happier than words that paint a picture, or words that just make me laugh.

We all know my love for “persnickety,” which instantly brings to mind someone like Downton‘s dowager.

If you're as entertaining as the Countess of Grantham, you can be as persnickety as you like.  Image from PBS.org.

If you’re as entertaining as the Countess of Grantham, you can be as persnickety as you like.
Image from PBS.org.

This and other words are one of the quickest ways to make me happy. Just a few …

Image found on thegnukid.wordpress.com.

Image found on thegnukid.wordpress.com.

galoot

Image found on fragileannie.com.

skedaddle

Image found on TheYUNiversity.

Image found on TheYUNiversity.

45a301cff6953600f5f091b72ed3ff16

I leave you with one of the funniest words uttered by Monty Python. Be sure to stay tuned through the credits (yep, the sketch has credits).

4 thoughts on “Sunday happy words

  1. “Curmudgeon” is one of my favorites! I use it frequently, as in telling my husband not to be a curmudgeon (like the time he wouldn’t wait patiently for a goose to cross the street). I have been surprised at the number of people who have asked me the meaning of “curmudgeon,” so I’m always happy to enlighten them. “Discombobulated” is another favorite, as in “This first semester of grad school has left me discombobulated to the point that I may turn into a curmudgeon.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • 😀

      I did that long ago … at 25 I was banging on the ceiling with a broom to get my upstairs neighbors to shut the hell up (it didn’t work, dammit).

      And those kids need to get out of my yard! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

