Sunday fuzzy

This time it’s not the Galloping Goofball, although his voice does make a cameo (as does mine). It’s what I initially intended for last Sunday’s happy, and finally bring to you now.


About a week and a half ago, I came home from work around 6-ish, played with the boy a bit, then headed to the back to open up the back room so he could stare out the door. Wherever he can stare, he does (I even set up a stool for him in front of the door, which isn’t really used).

I grabbed a water out of the refrigerator back there and, turning around, I thought I saw something. Then I knew I did, but couldn’t tell what it was, so went to grab my camera to try to figure it out.

By the time I got back, Luke was, of course, watching that critter intently as it explored the backyard, munching on leaves and grass that was only partially mowed (thanks, muscle spasms). Finally, zooming in, I could see the fuzzy little guy, and got a little bit of video of him (not clear in some points as it was shot through the window).

At the time, at least once he turned around, I thought it was a prairie dog (you’ll hear me say that) … because of his body shape, it was possible it was a beaver, but his tail betrayed him. I think now that it was probably, instead, a groundhog, and I kinda wanna find his burrow for a certain day in February.

About 10 seconds from the end, you’ll hear a frustrated meow … that would be Luke when I patted him on the head to let him know I was going to go fix my dinner. He did NOT want to be disturbed while he was watching the encroacher! 😀

No matter, the whole episode was so cute, I couldn’t stop smiling.

At first, it could have been mistaken for a pile of dirt or leaves.

At first, he could have been mistaken for a pile of dirt or leaves.

And then, not so much! I know some people don't like groundhogs, but I think he's a little cutie, and he's welcome back anytime.

And then, not so much! I know some people don’t like groundhogs, but I think he’s a little cutie, and he’s welcome back anytime.

4 thoughts on “Sunday fuzzy

Leave a Reply

