Sunday happy (and cool)

This is the first actually cool weekend of the month and, as I write this, it’s only rained a little bit. Though it’s still about a week away, as far as I’m concerned, that means it’s fall.

If I was feeling better, I would be out taking pictures. I’ve always loved taking photo hikes, and early spring and early to mid-fall are just about the best times to take nature pictures. Though I haven’t gotten out to do it lately, here’s a bit of late summer and fall from previous years to enjoy.

A dogface butterfly (I'm pretty sure) lands on thistle.

A dogface butterfly (I’m pretty sure) lands on thistle.

A passionflower in the sun.

A passionflower in the sun.

Is the coast clear?

Is the coast clear?

A bee hangs out on a partridge pea.

A bee hangs out on a partridge pea.

IMG_2703

A close-up of a spider lily after a rain shower.

 

Early fall at the old mill in North Little Rock.

Fall at the old mill in North Little Rock.

Light beams through fall trees at Burns Park.

Light beams through fall trees at Burns Park.

Though the covered bridge in the same area of Burns Park is very picturesque, in fall, the footbridge to its side is even more so.

Though the covered bridge in the same area of Burns Park is very picturesque in fall, the footbridge to its side is even more so.

A Hackberry Emperor on, yes, my right arm; a tough picture to take (and get in focus) when you're right-handed.

A Hackberry Emperor on, yes, my right arm; a tough picture to take (and get in focus) when you’re right-handed.

Calico asters are one of my favorite fall wildflowers.

Calico asters are one of my favorite fall wildflowers.

A milkweed tussock caterpillar ... much prettier than the moth it turns into.

A milkweed tussock caterpillar … much prettier than the moth it turns into.

Guara on the roadside ... sorta looks like a bunch of butterflies.

Guara on the roadside … sorta looks like a bunch of butterflies.

What really should be mascot for copy editors, the comma butterfly.

What really should be the mascot for copy editors, the comma butterfly.

Let the fall happy begin!

7 thoughts on “Sunday happy (and cool)

    • Thanks!

      But sometimes those things growing out of people’s heads make the picture. I’ll admit I laugh every time I see a windmill growing out of a head.

      And I do it too; I’ve got many prints of such mistakes, but with my digital camera, I can erase them and pretend they never happened. 😉

      Like

  1. I love your photos and hope you are feeling better. This blog post reminds me of my mom telling me to “Stop and smell the roses.” I’m pretty sure she started saying that to me when I was 10. I’ve been feeling overwhelmed with grad school – projects, time management, etc. – that I have not stopped to smell the roses since school started a month ago. Thank you for the reminder and for sharing these lovely photos.

    Like

    • Thanks! Still feeling kinda crappy, but getting there. Luke is draped across my left half right now, every so often reaching a paw under my arm … I think he’s trying to find my last nerve. 😉

      I’m so glad to hear from you … I was betting school was the reason I hadn’t for a while. Grad school was pretty much the same for me, too, but I only had myself to worry about. Take care of yourself, and take some time each day to laugh at the weirdness that is life! 😀

      Like

      • I’m sorry you are still feeling crappy. I love your description of Luke looking for your “last nerve.” Cats are good at that. Charlie has been sitting by my feet while I spend hours on school projects (after he climbs on the laptop and then knocks pens off the table). I’m looking forward to a quick trip to Texas late next week for a weekend with my mom, sister, and aunt to celebrate my mom’s 70th birthday. Mom will probably shove my face in a few flower arrangements, in love of course. Take care of yourself too. I’m anxiously awaiting tomorrow’s column.

        Like

Leave a Reply

