Sunday persnickety

If you're as entertaining as the Countess of Grantham, you can be as persnickety as you like.  Image from PBS.org.

If you’re as entertaining as the Countess of Grantham, you can be as persnickety as you like.
Image from PBS.org.

I know, all two of you are thinking: Where’s the happy? It’s Sunday and I need my happy!

When you’re a word nerd like me, it’s right there, in the word “persnickety.”

Persnickety is a word that is not just fun to say, it can also result in some funny results if you have voice search on your computer, smartphone or tablet (Siri’s not the only one who has trouble understanding).

Here’s what showed up when I asked for “persnickety“:

Uhhhh ... I don't think that's "persnickety." Unless Chris Mischetti is persnickety.

Uhhhh … I don’t think that’s “persnickety.” Unless Chris Michetti is persnickety.

That’s not quite what I was expecting, but it cracked me up.

2 thoughts on “Sunday persnickety

  1. That is hilarious!! I love the words curmudgeon and cerulean. I have to remind my husband occasionally that he is too young to start acting like a curmudgeon. Helene (her last name has slipped my mind) wrote a column a few Sundays ago about curmudgeons, and I completely identified with it. I’m not a curmudgeon, but I know several people who are on their way down that road. Curmudgeons tend to be persnickety too.

    I also like “cerulean” because the sound rolls off my tongue and it’s a pretty color.

    Like

Leave a Reply

