Sunday happy

This looks good, but messy ... but gooood. Chocolate shell-shock ice cream sundae from allrecipes.com.

This looks good, but messy … but gooood. Chocolate shell-shock ice cream sundae from allrecipes.com.

I’ve been at a loss on what to do for this week’s Sunday Happy, what with my sinuses flaring up and giving me a huge headache. Then it hit me: Sundaes!

And no, not the Korean sundae (even reading the description of that makes me nauseated).

Ice cream sundaes because, after all, July is National Ice Cream month!

Ice cream headache? Yes, please!

Mmmmmm, chocolate sundae ... Image by James Carrier via myrecipes.com.

Mmmmmm, chocolate sundae …
Image by James Carrier via myrecipes.com.

My IBS puts a lot of foods (and I do mean a LOT) off-limits for me unless I want to spend all day in the bathroom. So far, though, I’ve been lucky in many respects because I can still eat and drink milk products most days (many people with IBS are also lactose-intolerant). Which means that I can eat some ice cream when it’s so freakin’ hot in July and August instead of just ice pops.

The best chocolate ice cream other than real homemade, Yarnell's, based in Searcy.  Image from Yarnells.com.

The best chocolate ice cream other than real homemade, Yarnell’s, based in Searcy.
Image from Yarnells.com.

And yup, got some ice cream this morning at the store. My favorite, Yarnell’s.

I see a sundae in my Sunday.

 

6 thoughts on “Sunday happy

  1. I understand completely. I bought two pints of my current favorite (Kroger’s Private Selection Chocolate Hazelnut Mascarpone) a few days ago. I don’t like chocolate ice cream, but I love chocolate swirled through, chipped in, or poured on top of almost anything else.

    Like

    • In Arkansas, it’s always a good idea to have at least a pint or two of ice cream handy in the summer. I’ll usually have some vanilla, too, but didn’t grab one today … I need chocolate comfort. 😀
      There was a toffee ice cream several years back in pints that was AMAZing, but I think they stopped making it; the Breyer’s Heath is good, but just not the same.

      Like

      • My favorite was Ben & Jerry’s Heath Bar Crunch. Then they decided to get all politically correct and remove all GMOs from their ice cream and dropped the Heath bars and substituted some other toffee and it was just gross! They relabeled it Toffee Bar Crunch and I didn’t notice the change till I took my first — and last — bite. Yuck. There’s no substitute for Heath. Of course they didn’t announce this change. I had to read about it elsewhere.

        Like

Leave a Reply

