Sunday happy tunes

Tell me that clapping rhythm isn't in your head right now. You can't, can you? Image from Acid Cow.

Tell me that clapping rhythm isn’t in your head right now. You can’t, can you? Image from Acid Cow.

If you haven’t figured it out already, music is one of my great loves and a sure way to make me happy (well, as long as it’s not from those who value style over substance). I was reminded of that when I saw this dump-truck picture yesterday and instantly heard a familiar rhythm in my head (that happens a lot … a single word can set off my brain sometimes).

While I wasn’t a huge fan of Queen when I was a kid, the older I got the more I appreciated the complicated nature of most of their songs (yes, they made clunkers, too, like “Flash,” but for the most part, they were golden). “Bohemian Rhapsody” for me is the height of their genius, encapsulating keen musical prowess and a big load of fun … I mean, c’mon, who doesn’t love the “scaramouche” section and the head-banging fun that follows?

It’s little wonder to me that their music lives on so long after Freddie Mercury’s passing, or that so many have tried (and many failed) to recapture that magic. The Muppets came close, though, at least on the fun element.

There’s an infectious rhythm and hook to be found in their songs, especially ones like “Bohemian Rhapsody,” “Somebody to Love,” and “We Will Rock You” that just can’t be denied.

There’s a reason I listen to them and Adele at work when I’ve got an especially horrid earworm in my head: They just make me happy.

Leave a Reply

