I get knocked down …

Uh ... nope. I checked. Your name wasn't on it. That means it's mine.

Uh … nope. I checked. Your name wasn’t on it. That means it’s mine.

but I get up again … and then my cat steals my chair.

Today I had to steel myself for the reaction from my column this morning. I knew that I based it on what I believe to be firm legal standing as far as Judge Chris Piazza’s ruling last Friday, but as much as I love my state, I knew there would be people who would be highly upset.

Even more than Luke is when I make him get the hell out of my seat.

I wasn’t wrong, because there were people who lashed out over what I said (which I still stand behind), not so much on the legal standpoint, but more on the question of morals and politics (HEAVY on the politics), and those who railed against me seemed to show no interest in reading the actual decision.

But then there were the sweet, kind and funny responses that made me feel so much better.

From a reader I seemed to regularly scrap with over editing of letters until I started the column:

Blessings for what you do ( in MY opinion!?) so well.

Thanks, Karl! (One of the scraps we had was over the phrase “in my opinion,” so it’s sort of a joke now.)

From a climate activist and wise woman:

Thanks for supporting Piazza. My gay friends are so hopeful that their 20 year unions can finally have legal protection. You will have some feedback on this, as the current letters already indicate.

Thanks, Shelley! Even if I were against the concept of same-sex marriage, I think I would still have to admit the logic of this ruling, and I’m grateful that so many now are getting a chance for the same legal rights others have. And it was definitely heartening to see nearly two full columns of marriage licenses in the city edition (including a few names familiar to me) this morning.

From a very wise and sweet man who always seems to find the right words to say the hard things:

Brenda, thanks for an excellent column today.  It took more than a little courage for you to write those words.

Thanks so much, Sandy! Honestly, I never really thought about being brave, but simply saying what I believed and backing it up with facts. But okay, yeah, I was a little freaked out.

I even received a phone call from a former teacher of one of my columnists that started my day out on a good foot, and continued that bit of joy with lovely words from an inspiring woman in Jacksonville (I want to be Harriet when I grow up) whose thirst for knowledge gives me great hope for our future.

And of course, I still had a warm fuzzy from a letter I had received the day before that included this P.S.:

Please keep up the great work with the Voices section. The whole tenor of the letters has changed, not to mention the sopranos, altos, baritones and especially the bass.

Ah, Dan … you really know how to get to the heart of a word nerd.

Let's do it in a round now ... "Soft kitty, warm kitty, little ball of fur ... happy kitty, sleepy kitty, purr, purr, purrrrrrrr."

Let’s do it in a round now … “Soft kitty, warm kitty, little ball of fur … happy kitty, sleepy kitty, purr, purr, purrrrrrrr.”

****

Then again, that couldn’t last.

Later in the day I got a “drive-by”: a guy who apparently decided that I was high-and-mighty with A VERY IMPORTANT JOB. I remember he said something about Karl Rove and Ronald Reagan, but since he talked so fast and wouldn’t let me get a word in edgewise (and wasn’t interested in my opinion anyway), then hung up rather quickly, I’m still not sure what he said, though I’m sure he was bragging later to his drinkin’ buddies about how he owned me.

What I do remember clearly, though, is the new title he gave me. I think I’ll have it added to the sign on my door:

 

Purveyor of all things librul ... has a nice ring to it, no?

Purveyor of all things librul … has a nice ring to it, no?

Leave a Reply

