Sunday happy

Storms are on the schedule pretty much all day today … more of those April showers (woo hoo!), which means my yardwork has to wait again.

However, that doesn’t mean we have to wait for May for pretty flowers. I haven’t been out on a photo hike looking for wildflowers lately, but these pictures from past hikes (and a few from my yard) put me in a good mood. There’s just something about their persistence and sometimes unexpectedness that I think we can learn from.

A teeny sweat bee climbs out of tiny blue flax bloom.

A teeny sweat bee climbs out of tiny blue flax bloom.

 

Shepherd's purse can be annoying when it's in abundance in your yard in early spring, but it's actually quite pretty.

Shepherd’s purse can be annoying when it’s in abundance in your yard in early spring, but it’s actually quite pretty.

Showy evening primrose never fails to brighten my day. Those buttercups aren't bad either.

Showy evening primrose never fails to brighten my day. Those buttercups aren’t bad either.

 

Ants traverse Queen Anne's lace.

Ants traverse Queen Anne’s lace.

A bee hangs out on a partridge pea.

A bee hangs out on a partridge pea.

Buckeye ... kinda reminds me of Mickey Mouse for some reason.

Buckeye … kinda reminds me of Mickey Mouse for some reason.

Purple hyacinths; we had a patch of these when I was growing up, and I always loved them.

Purple hyacinths (or bluebells); we had a patch of these when I was growing up, and I always loved them.

 

A Venus looking glass, another tiny wildflower.

A Venus looking glass, another tiny wildflower.

This dainty thing is one of my favorite wildflowers from when I was growing up: Texas toadflax. Why it has Texas in the name I have no idea.

This dainty thing is one of my favorite wildflowers from when I was growing up: Texas toadflax. Why it has Texas in the name I have no idea.

Another tiny wonder, wood sorrel.

Another tiny wonder, wood sorrel.

Self=heal, which looks from a distance a bit like henbit, but I think it's much prettier.

Self-heal, which looks from a distance a bit like henbit, but I think it’s much prettier.

Larkspur in a pasture.

Larkspur in a pasture.

 

Rose gentian, found on a roadside.

Rose gentian, found on a roadside.

 

One of my favorite finds at Burns Park in North Little Rock, an Indian pink. I've only found it in one spot for a fairly short window of time in April.

One of my favorite finds at Burns Park in North Little Rock, an Indian pink. I’ve only found it in one spot for a fairly short window of time in April.

Jacob's ladder in the sun.

Jacob’s ladder in the sun.

 

Another Burns Park find, and one that amuses me: fogfrut.

Another Burns Park find, and one that amuses me: fogfruit.

Another roadside find: sea lavender.

Another roadside find: sea lavender.

Weed or wildflower, depending on your perspective: meadow sage.

Weed or wildflower, depending on your perspective: meadow sage.

Bee balm (monarda) just looks like fireworks to me.

Bee balm (monarda) just looks like fireworks to me.

When I see a patch of tiny spring beauty in the yard, it always seems such a shame to mow it down.

When I see a patch of tiny spring beauty in the yard, it always seems such a shame to mow it down.

4 thoughts on “Sunday happy

    • I used to take several photo hikes at least March through May every year, but I’ve been ill a bit too much this year and haven’t gotten out. I’ve got several guide books to help me figure out what’s what, but there are some I’ve taken pictures of that I’m still at a loss on. My tendency is to look for the little flowers most people don’t really notice. It’s very relaxing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

