I’ve resisted long enough

Generally I would never write something about a horrible person dying unless it was a dictator an entire nation had prayed to pass on. I consider it bad form to dance on someone’s grave … plus, if it’s rained recently, you’d ruin your shoes.
However, for the passing of Fred Phelps of Westboro Baptist Church a few days back, I’ll make an exception.

Image from ahdimages.com.

Image from ahdimages.com.

The kind of hate Phelps endorsed (as does the rest of his family/”church”) makes Christians as a whole look awful, but even worse, it seems to have given some a license to hate as well.

Too many churches seem to have forgotten that hate was not what Jesus taught, and that he was inclusive in his philosophy.

Then again, so many now claim to know exactly what God thinks (Gosh, thanks, Fred, for letting us know that God hates America and gay people) that it’s hard for non-Christians, and sometimes even other Christians, to take them seriously.
In that vein, a couple of editorial cartoons that get it:

Joe Heller, Green Bay Press-Gazette.

Joe Heller, Green Bay Press-Gazette.

Rick McKee, Augusta Chronicle.

Rick McKee, Augusta Chronicle.

When I saw the alert from The Washington Post the other day that ol’ Fred was no more, my first thought was of him being denied at the Pearly Gates as God stood there ready to tell him what he really thinks.
This is why a sense of humor is so important. Otherwise you might not see these haters for the huge joke they are.
I’m pretty sure, too, that God has a sense of humor. How else could you explain platypuses and Justin Bieber?

Image by Nicole Duplaix, from nationalgeographic.com.

Image by Nicole Duplaix, from nationalgeographic.com.

Miami Beach Police

Miami Beach Police

4 thoughts on “I’ve resisted long enough

  1. Love the post. I was sorely tempted to comment myself but I just didn’t think I could do it without lowering myself to Fred’s level and gloating in a most unbecoming way. Decided silence might speak louder than words.

    Like

    • Thanks, and you’re right. I think that was one of the reasons I waited so I could get the majority of the snark out of my system and approach it from the angle of “hey, hate is not what life is supposed to be about.” Sadly, I think that that’s where we’re stuck. Here’s hoping something will break through …

      Like

  2. Whilst I admire your resolve to not “Dance on Fred’s grave, I can’t help but feel this is an occasion to suspend the smarmy, alternative take (Oh, evuhbody has SOME nice thangs about them.”.)..
    The clown was lower than whale poop. The world became a better place, instantly, upon him attaining room temperature.

    .Re: platypuses …It may be wrong, but I much prefer “platypii.
    Like Rhinocoserii, or ‘Wusses’
    as in “Whut a bunch of wusses.’ rolls from curled lips ever so much more fluidly when wussii is used. Sounds like a fierce, African warrior tribe rather than…uhhh well, it just sounds better.

    Like

    • I’m so cracking up right now, just over the wusses thing. 😀

      Make no mistake: Fred was an asshat, pure and simple, but lowering ourselves to his subterranean level would serve no purpose. I want to believe that karma always gets these idiots in the end, and I don’t want karma to even look at me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

