Help for the humorless

OK, serious topic this time, guys, because the political crap that’s been stirred up has just been building up so much that I have to vent soon or I’ll explode.

Photo credit: mysterytricycle.com.

Photo credit: mysterytricycle.com.

Sometimes it’s a bit difficult to fight the urge to throttle some humorless asshat who’s decided that he (almost always a he) and his kind should be making all decisions for everyone else … especially when everyone else is a woman. What happened to “keep the government out of my life”? Apparently government is good as long as it’s legislating their idea of morality.

"Abortion is not Healthcare"

“Abortion is not Healthcare” (Photo credit: brunosan)

What’s really been sticking in my craw is the men who believe they should be in charge of what a woman does with her body … because, I guess, we silly females are not capable of making such decisions about our own bodies. Which, considering how many men don’t feel the need to take responsibility for their actions, is truly sickening.

It comes down to this: If you don’t have a uterus, it’s not your business. And women’s health services are not limited to abortions, despite what some of these asses say.

And hey, when the Westboro idiots start looking sane in comparison, you’ve got problems.

Let’s make this really clear: Women who have an abortion are, on the whole, not evil. Yes, there are women who might fit the Shameless Jezebel picture the “pro-life” (because, of course, anyone else is “pro-death”) people use to try to convince the gullible that all women who might seek the procedure must be. But how truthful is that image?

ABORTION // Fetus & Moron

ABORTION // Fetus & Moron (Photo credit: 666isMONEY ☮ ♥ & ☠)

I’ve never had an abortion, and I don’t know that I ever would, but that doesn’t mean I believe everyone should do the same thing I would. I haven’t been in a situation where it would really be a consideration; however, I do know, as I’m sure many do, women who have been faced with the hardest decision they could ever make.

I know someone who had to have an abortion twice because of ectopic pregnancies, this after three miscarriages. She desperately wanted a child, but it wasn’t in the cards for her to carry a baby to term. I’m sure that in the black-and-white world these people want us to live in, they would insist, despite the fact that ectopic pregnancies are not viable and could actually kill the mother, that the pregnancy continue.

I know another who had one after becoming pregnant following a rape. Sure, there are women who have their rapist’s child, but I would guess that most of us just aren’t strong enough emotionally to do such a thing.

I also know someone who, late in her pregnancy, found out that her child would likely not live long after the birth, but if by some miracle he did, his brain damage would be so dramatic that he would always be completely dependent, unable to walk or communicate. It was a horrible decision to have to make, but what she and her husband decided they knew was for the sake of their son.

My serenity now ... dappled sunlight under cool trees in early spring.

My serenity now … dappled sunlight under cool trees in early spring.

What’s been lost in the hysteria and the absolute humorlessness of the people who feel it’s their right to hold everyone to their set of values (which if you start really examining them are often laughable) is that not everyone has the same belief system, same life circumstances, or the same access to care and/or decision-makers. Women from well-to-do families won’t have to worry, but low-income women, who don’t have the money to go elsewhere or politicians in their pockets, get screwed.

While I wouldn’t go quite so far as to vociferously advocate “free abortions on demand without apology” (Note that the tagline is “Feminism, sexuality & social justice. With a sense of humor.” Which these people don’t have.), I think it’s insane to take us back to the era of back-alley abortions. But even if I did, I guess I wouldn’t be surprised by the reaction of the humorless masses who don’t get the main point; we have been far too polite about protecting our rights, especially compared to the people who can’t seem to keep their noses out of our uteruses (wow, what an image).

No, I don’t advocate sex-selection abortion or forced abortion, nor would I ever, but that’s not what we’re talking about. Safe, legal and rare abortions are what we’re talking about, and that should be the aim. Yes, Bill Clinton can be right every once in a while.

I won’t go into the statistics because, having earned a degree in research, I know statistics can say whatever the wielder wants them to say. Yes, about half of all unintended pregnancies are aborted. Yes, the bulk of abortions happen in the first eight weeks, and are done on unmarried women. Yes, a tiny percentage of abortions are late-term, and for many reasons. One of the most troubling, I believe, is because of lack of access, and in the current atmosphere, it’s only going to get worse.

****

Need more? Meet the kind of woman who needs a late-term abortion.

2 thoughts on “Help for the humorless

Leave a Reply

