It is to laugh …

Omigod! You're actually funny every once in a while! Who knew?

Omigod! You’re actually funny every once in a while! Who knew?

That would be my goal most days, especially when faced with such ridiculous things as a Senate candidate trying to revive a food stamp tale about a rare occurrence (Tom Cotton, you scamp, implying a level of  welfare fraud far above what’s actually in existence), or basically anything that comes out of Glenn Beck’s mouth (why one-sourcers trust him so much I’ll never know).

So yeah, when I see many of the editorial cartoons I get to choose from for my page, it’s sometimes hard not to cackle like a maniac. Some, though, are spiked before ever making it to our pages, and often, they’re the ones that crack me up the most.

Nick Anderson of the Houston Chronicle is one of those guys who’s sometimes a little hit and miss, but when he’s on, he’s funny and/or thought-provoking, which is exactly what an editorial cartoonist is supposed to be.

This one, printed in the Chronicle and syndicated by Washington Post Writers Group, is one that didn’t make it for us but tickled my funny bone (bigger version in the above link):

Published Sept. 1, 2013, in the Houston Chronicle.

Nick Anderson cartoon published Sept. 1, 2013, in the Houston Chronicle.

Some of the funniest cartoons I’ve seen over the past couple of years have taken a swipe at right-wing views on Barack Obama. One of my favorite cartoonists, Bruce Plante of the Tulsa World, is a bit of a master at this, as seen in this one from last year (again, bigger version can be found at the link):

Bruce Plante cartoon published Sept. 12, 2012, in Tulsa World.

Bruce Plante cartoon published Sept. 12, 2012, in Tulsa World.

Coming on the heels of the Benghazi attack, this one also didn’t make it in our paper, but it’s still funny. Obama conspiracy? Check!

****

I was told by a former supervisor once that I was a pessimist, but I don’t believe that. What I consider myself is a realist; I expect the worst and hope for the best, the better to handle the worst when it happens. I know bad things happen (and believe me, I know firsthand), but I’ve learned that if one chooses to see only the bad, that’s all you’ll have.

I choose to see the bright side, no matter how dim it might seem. If that means I have to be extra-goofy, so be it; into every life a duck butt must bob.

I see your duck butt and raise you ...

I see your duck butt and raise you …

So what’s the point here?

Basically, it’s that even when politics and the world in general suck (which is pretty much all the time), humor can still be found for those willing to see it.

And lord knows this world needs it.

Leave a Reply

