Google’s trying to kill me

It’s a miracle I didn’t get a call from the IT guys today considering what popped up on my computer at work.

Photo credit: AARP.org.

Photo credit: AARP.org.

So I was editing John Brummett’s column for tomorrow and came upon a mention of a Twitpic of Mike Ross fist-bumping with Anthony Weiner after a favorable committee vote on the Affordable Care Act in mid-2009. Of course, I went to track it down on Google’s image search.

BIG mistake.

Modern Woodmen of America fraternal badge. Photo credit: Unnecessary Umlaut

Modern Woodmen of America fraternal badge. Photo credit: Unnecessary Umlaut.

What I got back was not photos of Ross and Weiner’s white-dude dap, but of Weiner’s … uh … weiner (thankfully digitized). Which meant that finding the picture I was looking for turned into me looking for a needle in a hey-I-did-NOT-want-to-see-that-stack. It was bad enough that my mind had already put an L in the name of Weiner’s alter ego (making him Carlos Dangler). I’m no prude, but still …

After recovering from that trauma, I asked John for the URL. Thank God Weiner kept his pants on for that one.

And now enough people today have searched for Ross and Weiner together that the weiner shots are lower in the search results.

It was one of those days that I was verrrrry happy that I have an office since there was no chance someone could come up behind me unnoticed and see a screen full of Weiner. However, some things you just can’t unsee. Even the tighty-whitey shot was terrifying.

President George W. Bush and U.S. Air Force Academy graduate Theodore Shiveley of Plano, Texas, bump chests after Shiveley receives his diploma on May 28, 2008. (AP/ Charles Dharapak)

President George W. Bush and U.S. Air Force Academy graduate Theodore Shiveley of Plano, Texas, bump chests after Shiveley receives his diploma on May 28, 2008. (AP/ Charles Dharapak)

At least it wasn’t a chest bump.

Darn you to heck, Google!

****

And being serious for a moment, I have to say I’m disappointed in Huma again “standing by her man.” There comes a point, even when there’s a child in the picture, that you just have to say “no more.”

Huma, it’s way past that time now. His political career is not more important than you or your son.

****

In “honor” of Weiner’s latest misstep, a poll …

4 thoughts on “Google’s trying to kill me

Leave a Reply

