How rude!

Those who know me know that few things make me angrier than rudeness (behind people who hurt children, the elderly, disabled or animals). It’s epidemic, almost seeming to be second nature.

Luke is soooo not amused by your rude behavior.

Luke is soooo not amused by your rude behavior.

A big part of the problem is the sense of entitlement so many people have, along with the apparent belief that only they exist in the world, and I think we have to admit the Internet’s role in this. There are no barriers, no second thoughts, no censors; we just say whatever we’re thinking with no thought of consequences. We fire off snarky comments, get into wars of words with people with whom we disagree, and expect to always get the last word.

Of course I know how to act!

Of course I know how to act!

For those of us who are too nice for our own good, who will fight for others but not ourselves, it’s especially frustrating. We won’t say what we’re really thinking because our mamas taught us better than that.

We don’t flip off the rude driver turning where we’re walking (in a crosswalk with the right of way, of course) when that driver yells “Move yo chunky ass!” Even when the driver is far from a waif.

Yep, we just take it. We take it when we’re bullied by people who insist that they must have their own way or there will be hell to pay. We take it when politicians refuse to give an inch, insisting that their party’s goals are all that’s important, constituents be damned.

****

The Osborne Family Spectacle of Dancing Lights

The Osborne Family Spectacle of Dancing Lights (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The late Jennings Osborne was famed not only for his Christmas lights, but for his philosophy of committing random acts of kindness.

I say we need to go back to that idea. It doesn’t have to be anything big. Open a door for someone. Let someone else have the last piece (it doesn’t matter of what). Pay for the lunch of the person behind you at Wendy’s. Smile at the customer service rep when paying a bill.

And if that’s too much, try a random act of weirdness because everyone needs a good laugh.

****

On another topic entirely, I loved finding this today. Rick Aschmann, who collects dialects as a hobby, created a map of American English dialects, which he’s been working on for years. On the map, I fall into Inland South for where I grew up and went to college, while where I live now is in a border region, basically an Inland/Lowland South combo (my accent, though, is kind of a mix, owing to the mix of dialects where I grew up and my broadcasting/acting/singing background). You can also record your own voice at the site, which allows Aschmann to map even more dialects.

Okay, what can I say? I love words!

2 thoughts on “How rude!

    • Thanks so much … I’m always grateful for another follower (though Luke still thinks it’s all about him), and more than happy to spread the love!
      I deal with people every day at work, but not as much as my clerk, Steph, who’s a marvel. Most people are polite, but we always get a few rude and abusive callers. Steph usually manages to defuse them fairly quickly, but some people refuse to change. I hope that continuing to meet rudeness with a smile will eventually get through to people like the “move yo chunky ass” lady, but I’m a realist too ,,,

      Like

Leave a Reply

